Worth It?

If you cared for your life you wouldn’t be here,
my eyes are not worth your time.
It’s a crazy notion to think I’ve made it this far,
where am I to be when I am discovered?
When those around me realise I’m not worth it.
Picking at the dry skin around my fingernails,
alone and doubting my rhyme and reasons,
what would it be like to believe in yourself?
I can’t even begin to imagine how it feels,
a town centre is a world of dread to me,
naked and observed ad-hoc by everyone,
judged in the same horrid way I judge people.
Hypocrisy to a blessing and a curse,
the strongest shield and the weakest link,
always pretending
but I wish I didn’t give a fuck.

3 thoughts on “Worth It?

  1. Strange, the sense of community lurking within loneliness. You, and I, and others- your words could have been ours- standing together, but alone. I enjoyed this; thank you for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

