An Evening Star

Does an evening star
always haunt this long?
It’s memory will not leave me alone,
hanging in the air above my hanging head.
A soft glow that I’ve long since forgotten,
I search the sky aimlessly to see it,
it was far too kind to a wretch like me.
It could have all been a trick of the light,
but it made my blue heart smile.
Everything about it was elegant to me,
welcoming beamed bright from it.
It’s fills me with guilt
to be this preoccupied,
but for a few minutes
I felt warmth.

11 thoughts on “An Evening Star

Leave a Reply

