Mannequin

You have to get the steps right,
if you don’t you will never be forgiven.

First step: attach the chain to your wrist,
secondly, attach the other end to the wheels,
place the mannequin on them,
decorate it in your clothes and jewellery.

It will follow you everywhere you go,
you cannot be out of its gaze,
it’s there to judge you as I and the world do.

You have a opinion of your own?
Cut off your left foot this instant,
and swap it for the mannequin’s left foot!
Are you getting the gist of this yet?

You have an interest in art?
Remove the mannequin’s and your left legs!

Now this is where things become a little more tricky,
so make sure you don’t stitch yourself to tight,
a lot of chopping, changing and swapping will be done
before you have learned your lesson.

We don’t like your actions or your thoughts,
it’s there for all of us to see now, clear as day,
as your body wrestles with moving fibreglass limbs,
and your rotting limbs hang from a fibreglass body.

Why did you tell me that?
I don’t think you have learned your lesson yet.
Swapping the bodies around will be interesting.

A barely living statue now,
you dare not move or speak.
I don’t think you can do much of anything to be honest,
but i still don’t think you’ve learned your lesson.

Don’t look at me like that!
RIGHT! Time to swap the heads!

You’re so beautiful and still,
I’ll throw out that rotting pile of flesh in the morning
and you, my fibreglass beauty,
will live happily ever after.

9 thoughts on “Mannequin

  1. Your writings are irresistible to read. Once I read a few lines I just couldn’t leave it until I had more time. I see the resemblance to perfectionism in your mannequin . I also feel like that rotting pile of flesh sometimes. Ill be back for this on my next self annihilating day.

  2. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to live in a monochromatic world where sameness and conformity is encouraged and valued. Instead, I want to “paint” a world— a community where authenticity is the medium. Where diversity and originality are nurtured and honored.

    I believe it’s time us “painters” beautified this world with a fresh coat of authenticity. I’m tired of the palette of sameness.

Leave a Reply

