I Am Sea

I know I will one day dry out
but for now I need to be wet,
in the bathroom dunking myself
proving I’m not a witch.

A nautical sense is within me,
calmness found in sea breeze,
solace in gentle ripples,
a boat trip is Ritalin to me.

My enthusiasm is a tidal wave,
I drown people in rushing words,
towering waves of specific vagueness,
sweeping them out on my tide.

It’s a conflict within me,
I can be by it or on the cusp,
but being in water I can’t see
the bottom of terrifies me.

Underwater forests flourish
under old wooden platforms,
the sweet smell of saltwater,
comfort found in the sea.

2 thoughts on “I Am Sea

  1. You come out of the gate with this:
    “I know I will one day dry out
    but for now I need to be wet,
    in the bathroom dunking myself
    proving I’m not a witch.”

    So much in this poem. Well done.

Leave a Reply

